CEO Twitter Scoreboard – July 1 Update

© TECHtionary.com

by @techtionary

Updated July 1 – 2017

From Jack Dorsey – “When a leader, CEO or someone in a leadership position takes to the platform they have the opportunity to humanise their organisation, make it feel smaller and relatable to people.”

The Winner is !

The top Twitterer is Richard Branson @richardbranson with 11.0 million gaining 700K million followers and certainly the most engaged CEO with 3-Star rating.  As reported by Entrepreneur magazine, here are:

Four Ways Richard Branson Does Social Media

  1. He connects on the most human of levels.
    2. He uses social media to drive traffic to the Virgin website.
    3. He has fun.
    4. He welcomes input from customers.

 

The biggest gainer in the business world was @elonmusk CEO of Telsa with 9.65 million and 1.3 million new followers.

 

In today’s business-political-social world, you are measured by many factors including the number of Twitter followers you have.  In fact, many surveys have found that websites in general are perceived as passive customer communication tools with Twitter being a far more proactive customer-engaging tool.  These surveys have also found an increasing number of customers go to your Twitter account before they go to your website doing “due diligence” on you looking for call-to-actions, thought leadership and content useful in their purchasing as well as customer complaints regarding your solution.  Your client may not have a Twitter business account but they may have a personal account and their advisors may as well.  You can also see how in some small way John Legere’s Twitter efforts have also impacted the price of the stock.

As noted Twitter expert Evan Kirstel just named Top B2B-Business-to-Business Influencer with 130K followers stated, “Twitter is not just way to meet new prospects and partners, it IS the way you run your company. If you aren’t engaged, your competition likely is!”  That is, CEO’s are beginning to see the real value of Twitter not just for their company but for their role as CEO in the company they run. 

 

The New Social Media Engaged CEO as “The ultimate value of any CEO is the price of the stock and social media can impact that.”

If you are a CEO or C-Level we can help you and your company use Twitter to gain-retain followers and customers

email cross@gocross.com and we can provide proven cost-effective results and references.

The purpose of this article is to not just talk about HOW CEOs Twitter but which CEO has the highest number of Followers

not the only measure of the CEO’s social presence but certainly a viable one.

 ***Twitter Star Ratings

***Three Stars – Posting Weekly Engaging with Followers & “Thought Leadership” – Global Values & Vision

**Two Stars – Posting Weekly and Thought Leadership

* One Star – Posting Weekly & Corporate Sales Pitch

How do you score against your competitors?

Click here to get listed, corrections, additions, and Twitter help. We apologize for omissions or errors.  

CEO’s:  Gains+ and Losses – April-June 2017 (next update will be 10/1)

Company Twitter Name Followers +/- since April 1 2017 Star Rating Notes
Richard Branson @richardbranson 11,000,000 +700,000 *** Global, company, customer engagement
Elan Musk Telsa/Spacex @elonmusk 9,650,000 +1,350,000 ** Space pics
Mark Cuban @mcuban 7,270,000 +590,000 * Personal topics
Lord Sugar Amshold @Lord_Sugar 5,380,000 +40,000 ** Global
Tim Cook Apple @tim_cook 5,320,000 +780,000 ** Apple promotion
John Legere @JohnLegere 4,320,000 +410,000 *** TMobile and event promotion
Jack Dorsey @jack 4,070,000 +50,000 ** Social issues
Aaron Levie Box @levie 1,860,000 +550,000 ** Political topics
Marissa Mayer Yahoo @marissamayer 1,710,000 +100,000 * Business topics
Tony Fernades AirAsia @tonyfernandes 1,460,000 +70,000 *** Airline and global topics
Satya Nadella MSFT @satyanadella 1,350,000 +80,000 *** MSFT promotion & global tops
Michael Dell @MichaelDell 1,230,000 +70,000 * Dell promotion
Warren Buffett Berkshire @WarrenBuffett 1,229,000 +3,000 Only 1 posts in 2016
Sundar Pichai Google @sundarpichai 908,000 133,000  
Marc Benioff Salesforce @Benioff 854,000 +176,000 *** Social issues
Larry Kim Wordstream @larrykim 754,000 +85,000  
Jeff Weiner Linkedin @jeffweiner 512,000 +46,000 ** Global business
Dave Asprey BPNutrition @bulletproofexec 349,000 0 ** Food topics
Jeffrey Bezos Amazon @JeffBezos 287,000 +85,000 * Space issues
Drew Houston Dropbox @drewhouston 249,000 New * Business
Brian Chesky Airbnb @bchesky 246,000 New ** Global
Meg Whitman @MegWhitman 236,000 0 Northing since 2011
Olga Kay MooshWalks @OlgaKay 220,000 -1,000 **
Tamara McCleary Thulium @TamaraMcCleary 220,000 +38,000  
Thubten WePostMedia @thubten 216,000 -5,000 ***
Bryan Kramer PureMatter @bryankramer 204,000 +2,000 **
Ashley Alexiss @AshAlexiss 201,000 +3,000 **
David Gold West Ham United FC @davidgold 181,000 +4,000 ** Sports and charities
Marcelo Claure Sprint @marceloclaure 170,000 +13,000 *** Company, family and charity topics
Mark Zuckerberg @MarkZuckerbergF 168,000 +18,000 Nothing since 2010
Debra Ruh RuhGlobal @debraruh 161,000 +12,000 *** Health, caring and charity topics
Gurbaksh Chalal @gchahal 132,000 0 ** Hidden tweets
Rui Delgado Berrymetrics @rui 130,000 +9,000 ** Global
Evan Kirstel @evankirstel 130,000 +19,000  
John Hall Influence Co @johnhall 117,000 +21,000 **
Shelly Kramer V3Broadsuite @ShellyKramer 105,000 +1,000 **
Ian Matthews WMGCinsights @iancsmatthews 102,000 -6,000 *
Mike Kawula SocialQuant @MikeKawula 99,100 +3,200 * Company topics
Larry Ellison Oracle @larryellison 95,700 +800 Nothing since 2012
Holly Ransom Emergent @HollyRansom 94,500 300 *** Global topics
Michael Brenner MKTGnsiders @BrennerMichael 88,400 +4,400 ** Marketing SEO topics
Spencer Rascoff Zillow @spencerrascoff 76,600 -100 *** Company topics
Joseph Steinberg SecureMySocial @JosephSteinberg 73,900 +1,100 **
Aseem Badshad Socedo @aseemb 73,500 +2,500 * Company topics
Stewart Butterfield Slack @stewart 66,600 New ** Global
Danny Gibson Inkster @DannyG_inkster 66,200 -1,100 * Culture
Danielle Morrill Mattermark @DanielleMorrill 64,200 +6,500 ** Company and global
Caen Contee Connect @caencontee 58,800 -100 * Company
Jacqueline Gold – Ann Summers @Jacqueline_Gold 58,200 +300 * Fashion, family topics
JM Alvarez-Pallete Telefonica @jmalvpal 57,400 +2,300 * Global
David Meltzer Sports1Mkt @davidmeltzer 53,100 -200 * Sports
Josef Holm Krowdster @josefholm 50,900 +2,500 * Crowdfunding
Lee Ann Allman Sandton @leeannallman 50,600 +3,200 ** Global
Peter Bordes OneCube @PeterBordes 49,500 +2,700 **
Rob Peters @StandardofTrust 45,800 +1,600 **
Brit Morin Brit @brit 45,000 +700 ** Family and company
Christo Fouch BusinessDirect @christofouche 40,900 +200 * Company sales
Paolo Privitera Pick1 @pppaolo 40,700 -200 **
Mark Hurd Oracle @MarkVHurd 39,500 +18,600 ** Company, tech
Keith Krach Docusign @KeithJKrach 38,300 +800 ** Company, tech
MariAnne Vanella Vanella Group @VanellaGroup 37,500 -13,200 ** Business topics
Kevin Crenshaw @kcren 37,100 +2,500 ***
Jason Will Zipkick @jasonbwill 34,200 +100 * Food
Sebastian James Dixons @DCSebJ 34,200 +1,000 * Company
David Jones One Young World @davidjonesOYW 32,800 +200 ** Global
Steve Zeitch FocalPoint @SteveZeitch 32,700 +700 **
Ronan Dunne Verizon @RonanDunneVZW 32,600 +100 *** Global
Jack Parsons YourfeedUK @JackParsons_CEO 32,100 +3,000 *** Tech, brand
Cheryl Burgess BlueFocus @ckburgess 30,600 +200 * Company
David Prasser Startuscc @DavidRPrasser 30,100 +3,100 ** Company, tech
Sherry Chris @sherrychris 28,900 +3,100 ** Fashion, family, other
Tim Jackson CADA @TimWJackson 28,600 +2,000 ** Business topics
Reed Hastings @reedhastings 28,000 +2,700 Political – social
Chuck Robbins Cisco @ChuckRobbins 27,400 +2,600 ** Company, tech
Jon Ferrar Nimble @Jon_Ferrara 27,100 +400 ** Company
Yaqui Nunez Quierolabya @yaqui 26,400 +100 ** Global
Mauro Biasolo LLCbox @MauroBiasolo 26,300 -3,300 *** Business topics
Gil Eyal Hyprbrands @gileyal 26,000 -300 ** Random
Ginny Rometty IBM @GinniRometty 23,100 +1,200 No posts
George Schildge Matrix Group @gschildge 21,900 +700 ** Marketing strategy
Stephen Kelly SageGroupPLC @SKellyCEO 21,300 +1,000 ** Global, tech
Javier beBee beBee @JavierBeBee 20,800 +2,100 ** Company promotion
Cindy Whitehead ThePinkCeiling @cindypinkceo 20,500 +1,800 *** Women in business
Ayah Bdeir Littlebits @ayahbdeir 19,400 +300 ** Company promotion
Helena Morrissey Newtonim @MorrisseyHelena 18,800 +800 ** Humanitarian
David Thodey x-Telstra @davidthodey 18,300 +100 Global
Jennifer Hyman Renttherunway @Jenn_RTR 17,900 +3,400 ** Fashion, politics
Nicelle McCall BoldGuidance @Nichelle_McCall 17,700 -200 * Startup
Mike Wilson Comnexia @VoIPBoss 17,600 -100 * Business
Blake Irving Godaddy @Blakei 17,400 +400 ** Global tech topics
Megann Rundell Tulip Strategies @megannrundell 17,300 -100 ** Random
Robert Moore Footprint_Nyc @MediaLabRat 16,800 +600 ** Content marketing
Mattan Griffel Onemonthedu @mattangriffel 16,700 0 ** Tech, startup
Dheeraj Pandey Nutanix @trailsfootmarks 15,900 +800 ** Company
Tom Cross TECHtionary @techtionary 15,800 +3000
Mark Bertolini Aetna @mtbert 15,800 +600 ** Global topics
Ouriel Ohayon Appsfire @OurielOhayon 15,700 +100 ** Apps
Joachim DeVos TomorrowLab @JoachimDeVos 15,600 New
Theo Priestly Cronycle @tprstly 15,500 +400 ** Innovation
Jonathan LaCoste Jebbit @lacostejonathan 15,100 -200 ** Tech, SMM
John Donahoe Paypal @Donahoe_John 14,500 +200 No posts since 2015
Brian Krzanich Intel @bkrunner 14,500 +600 ** Company promotion
Tom Gillis BRKT @_TomGillis 14,400 +2,500 ** Business security
Burton Goldfield Trinet @BurtonGoldfield 14,300 +2,600  
Geeman Yip BitTitan @GeemanYip 14,300 +2,800 ** Company, startups
Jan Owen Young Australians @JanOwenAM 14,000 +500 ** Global, startups
Jeremy Burton EMC @jburton 13,900 +300 ** Company promotion
Tom Mendoz Netapp @TomMendozaTalks 13,600 +600 ** Company, sports, tech
Derek Flanzraich Greatist @derekflanz 13,200 +100 * Wellness
Paul F. Calero Havas @Paul_Framp 13,200 +300 ** Global
Ophir Gottlief CMLviz @OphirGottlieb 13,100 +600 ** Fintech
Jeremy Bloom Integrate @JeremyBloom11 12,900 +100 ** Company, self-promo
Kathryn Parsons Decoded @KathrynParsons 12,600 +400 * Global, startups
Dr. Susan Amat VentureHive @SusanAmat 12,000 +100 *** Startups
Pat Gelginger Vmware @PGelsinger 11,500 +800 ** Company
Jon Medved OurCrowd @jonmedved 11,400 +200 * Startups
Brandon Foo Polymail @foolywk 11,000 0 * Company
Scott Brown Bounce.io @sbrown 10,800 +100 ** Company promotion & lifestyle
Bradford Glaser HRDQ @HRDQBrad 10,800 +100 ** Management, tech
Eric Yuan Zoom @ericsyuan 10,400 +3,745 ** Random
Briand Bosche GoSlope @BrianPBosche 10,300 -600 ** Company, tech
Grant Wilkinson Fluidbrowser @grantfwilkinson 10,200 -100   Apps and tech
Karim Abouelnaga PMPUSA @KarimAbouelnaga 10,200 +1,532 ** Team building
Francois Goube Cogniteev @francoisgoube 9,868 +9 ** Business Startup topics
Ludovic Huraux Shapr @LudovicHuraux 9,741 +1,962 ** Company promotion
Craig Faulker FMGSuite @CraigFaulkner_ 9,649 +472 * Marketing
Jack Salzwedel @amfamjack 9,387 +390 *** Company topics
Sara Bird Moz @SarahBird 9,349 +134 *** Company, tech
Martin Gilbert – Aberdeen @MartinGilbert83 9,260 +796 ** Industry
Wes Hayden Virtual Hold @weshayden 9,210 -133 ** Tech topics
Jerry Colonna RebootHQ @jerrycolonna 8,810 +417 ** Global
Marcela Shine Scientific_Ly @MarcelaShine 8,734 +1,630 * Politics
Brad Smith Intuit @IntuitBrad 8,715 +408 ** Company-personal promotion
Ola RollénHexagon @OlaRollen 8,675 +805 * Personal interests
Justin Holland Healthjoy @JH_HealthJoy 8,537 -419 ** Medical, startup
Arlo Gilbert Televero @arlogilbert 8,301 +145 ** Global topics
Adam Broadway NearMeco @abroadway 7,781 -103 ** Marketing
Dave Kellogg @Kellblog 7,432 New ** News
Domini Pouzin BitTitan @dominicpouzin 7,298 +2,063 ** Tech news
Jeff Haynie Appcelator @jhaynie 7,168 +167 ** Global topics
Gregarious Narain Chute @gregarious 6,606 -7 ** Personal
Chris Kalaboukis HelloFuture @thinkfuture 6,524 +22 ** Innovation tech
Bart Lorang FullContact @bartlorang 6,365 +144 ** Company, tech
Earl Rusnak VoipInt @Eruss2 6,149 -79 ** Tech topics
Howard Brown RingDNA @howardbrown 5,883 +6 ** Sales
James Park Fitbit @parkjames 5,803 +155 ** Company
Cathy Engelbert Deloitte @CathyEngelbert 5,776 +1,810 ** Company, Business
Heather Margolis ChannelMavens @HeatherMargolis 5,508 +182 ** Channel sales
Alex Raymond Kapta @afraymond 5,305 -11 ** Sales and Customer topics
Helmuth Fuchs Moneycab @buddli 5,295 -93 ** Global, startups

Note: CEO with less than 5,000 followers are not included.  We are glad to correct any errors or omissions.

Please suggest any missing names.  Please email cross@gocross.com for help in gaining-retaining Twitter followers and other forms of marketing.  Please follow us @techtionary

Note: Twitter accounts are based on Twitter, Google and other searches and may not be the only Twitter account used not by the companies nor individuals of the companies they run nor reflect any changes at the companies mentioned.  We searched the Fortune Magazine Fortune 1000 for name.

If you want to improve your Twitter score contact cross@gocross.com

Produced by @techtionary

The CEO Twitter Tech Scoreboard is designed to give you a benchmark of your Twitter performance as you can’t force people to Follow you and according to an increasing number of sources – customers visit your Twitter before they go to your website.  Gaining “meaningful followers” is a voluntary one, it is a good measure of “good will” you have in the marketplace you serve.

With ~135,00+ new users a day signing up for Twitter and 300 million monthly active users with 500+ million Tweets (click here for stats)  are sent per day and 78% of Twitter active users are on mobile, Twitter is “the” means for nearly all aspects of your business including human resources.  

If you are still not convinced of the importance of Twitter for your business, click here for article on Top-10 reasons for using Twitter for your business.

Bottom-line – Twitter is a must-have for customer service and the fastest, best way to post promotions, press, products, specials, buzz, events, reports, support issues and more.

Please send corrections or if your company is missing and/or needs assistance in gaining-retaining Twitter followers.

We can provide assistance and here are some other resources:

–  Top 10 Tips: Twitter is now “the” dominant source for sales lead generation

– Top-10 Reasons to “Tooting Your Own Twitter Horn

– Top-10 Tips to #Hashtags

– Twitter Twits – Top-10 Twerps 10 Twitter Pet Peeves – The Good, The Bad & Often Ugly

– Twitter for Sales & Marketing – Marketing Pitch Presentation

“Thought Leadership” – 10 Ideas on Being a Thought Leader

 

 

 

 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *